farm city!

saturday evening. | December 8, 2010

Norman Rockwell. Illustrator. Painter. Photographer. 1894-1978.

 

I never cared much for photorealism. I guess because I like photography a lot. And it seems that photorealism is just a technical-talent-wank on canvas – doesn’t leave much space for the imagined, for creativity. And so I never really cared for Norman Rockwell.
But then, I saw the recent exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum, ‘Norman Rockwell: Behind the Camera’ and I was intrigued. He’s a talented illustrator and super-meticulous about arranging and photographing all the scenes he painted. And so much of his subject matter is right up my alley – in just these two works, he incorporates books, axes, tattoos, sailors & woodsmen. I guess I was converted by the art…

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

