farm city!

cultural landscape. | April 20, 2010

Šentjošt, Slovenija.

Recently a few friends and I were speaking of landscapes – and our connections to them. It began with a discussion of Canada. One friend said she felt an immense connection with the foothills of Waterton, Alberta. Another said she was most at home at a rocky Ontario lake, like from a Group of Seven painting or something. For me, Canada is home. But I don’t feel super-connected to any one place here. I love it for its diversity, I guess.
But I do feel (or, felt, when I visited) a connection with Šentjošt, a little village of a few hundred people, where my grandfather was born and lived until he emigrated to Toronto. I don’t know why. I’ve been to plenty of ‘beautiful’ places, places too beautiful to describe, but for me, this little hillside village feels right.
It’s been a few years since I was last in Slovenija, but I constantly dream of a return.
Here’s a few photos of Šentjošt from further up the hill and a bit of printed ephemera from the village’s mountaineering club.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

