farm city!

hold fast. | January 18, 2010

MacLeod Clan Motto.

I recently read an interview with Cape Breton author Alistair MacLeod. Although he doesn’t have any tattoos, MacLeod said that if he did get inked, it would be the words “hold fast” on his bicep.
The interview was accompanied by a great illustration of Old Alistair with said tattoo, but alas I can’t find the image on the WWW and I don’t have a scanner. Maybe one day I’ll post a follow-up…
Anyway, I found this bad-ass photo of someone’s knuckles, all family-motto’ed-up.
I was impressed with the motto and with the tattoo. Made me wish that I had some Scotch ethnicity, some hard family motto. I did some basic research but nothing turned up for Lamovsek or Kavcic. I guess that’s understandable?
My friend Dave is a Matheson, and his motto is also great: do and hope.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

